In response to comments re:Trayvon Rally at #Zimmerman trial

OK  I’m fed up with hearing the potential Jurors in the Zimmerman case saying how people like the Reverend Al Sharpton invaded Sanford for profit, to stir up trouble and to fund themselves. That this was a black issue only, that we were convicting Zimmerman.

I spent several hours transcribing what Al Sharpton said at the major Trayvon rally held at Fort Mellon Park  22 March 2012 , which I and my WHITE family attended.

Yes, white people were there, many of them, along with hispanics and asians too!

Reverend Al wasn’t paid to attend. In fact his mother had just died,  he attended at an incredibly painful time in his life, we he didn’t need to. He showed, as you can read and hear, tremendous heart. Not due to race but due to faith in right and wrong. He along with millions across the world saw an injustice had been done. George Zimmerman should have been arrested when he killed Trayvon Martin.

If high profile people had not got involved, if this event had not taken place, there may not have been a trial. Truly a crime.

You can also hear how he urges people to remain peaceful, and dignified. That was how it was that night and at the other rallies too. I felt comfortable and safe at the rally, many of the black community made a point of thanking us for attending.

When I can, I’ll transcribe his words that came later on at the rally, where again he asks people to remain calm and to look after each other when leaving. This rally wasn’t instigation, this was a reply to a cry for help.

I also included many consecutive videos ( kudos to Jerry Waxman) of other speeches/prayers at the rally starting with the one Rev Al is on. He starts at  14:20   but by all means watch them all. I highlighted a few bullet points that stand out to me as very important. It may need some revision, as I transcription may not be 100% my apologies to the Rev and readers if I dont transcribe accurately. If you see a question mark it denotes my uncertainty in the words.

Transcription of Rev Al Sharpton at Trayvon Rally, Fort Mellon Park, Sanford
Thank you. No justice no peace. No justice no peace. No justice no peace. No justice no peace. No justice no peace. No justice no peace.

 All right. 26 days ago this young man, Trayvon Martin, did nothing criminal, did nothing unethical. He went to the store for his brother, he came back, and lost his life.

 Trayvon could have been any one of our sons. Trayvon could have been any one of us. Trayvon represents a reckless disregard for our lives that we’ve seen too long.

 And we come to tell you tonight, enough is enough. We are tired of going to jail for nothing and others going home for something.

  Zimmerman should have been arrested that night. Zimmerman had probable cause that night. You cannot defend yourself against a pack of skittles and ice tea.

 

Don’t talk to us like we’re stupid. Don’t talk to us like we’re ignorant. We love our children like you love yours. Lock him up.

 

 When attorney Crump called me I told him, I don’t believe in drive-by activism. If [we’re] in it [we’re] gonna be in it till we end, and win. When I met Sybrina and Tracey I told them, we’ll be in it not if we win it, but [we’re] gonna win.

 

 We’re gonna win because we have no choice. ‘Cos we cannot allow a legal precedent to be set in this city that tells us that it is legal for a man to kill us, tell any story he wants, and walks out with the murder weapon.  Some people said to me in the media, let me get this straight, they said ‘Reverend, seems like a lot of people are angry, are you afraid of violence?’ I said ‘No, I’m afraid of the violence you already have.’ Violence is, killing Trayvon, Don’t act like we are the ones that are violent. We didn’t shoot nobody. We come for the shot not the shooter.

I want our people to understand that how you behave is going to be a reflection on this case. I don’t care how angry we get, don’t let them make you act in a way that they can say ‘ See, that’s what they were afraid of with Trayvon. We are gonna act intelligent, we are gonna act dignified. But we’re gonna be determined, We are angry but we are not mad dogs. We’re too smart to fall for the Okey Doke. We’re gonna win this, on the merits of the case.

 Don’t let them trick you, they’re gonna send provocateurs in talking bad, they are working for the other side. The Trayvon side, we’re gonna win this. And we are giving them no way out.

 We brought a lot of people down when I called Michael Baisden, and said we had to do this rally. I got in National Action Network and we mobilized. We have so many people tonight that came and called. Governor David Paterson of New York is here. Norman sequals? of New York is here. Civil rights activist, Historian and humorist Dick Gregory is here. You all know him as the Judge, I know him as the freedom fighter Judge Greg Mathis is here. The Head, President of the NAACP, Ben Jealous is here. And when I look, my brother, my ace Boon Coon ? my jail buddy, my cell mate, the oldest child Martin Luther King III is here. The family of Rosa Parks is here. I didn’t come here by myself! You thought it was hot, the heat just arrived. Already, just [with] you gathering, just [with] what you done on a grass roots level, we’ve seen today, the Governor put a new Prosecutor in. We met with the Justice Department. The Chief said he did a temporary leave. No, we want permanent justice. But though it is ‘good’ what the Governor did. Though it is ‘good’ that the Justice Department down here.

We don’t want just ‘good’.  We want to see Zimmerman in court with handcuffs behind his back, charged with the death of this young man, Trayvon Martin.

Now let me say, before we hear from any dignitaries, let me do this, I want you all to follow security, hold it hold it, you all down the front you all be quiet ‘cos I’m gonna get ready to do something. I want us to hear from the parents, shh, y’all down in the front you gotta behave, this is our rally. Now, we want the parents to come forward, we gonna hear from the parents, then, I’m gonna do something they didn’t know we were gonna do, its gonna be a long struggle, I want us to raise some money for the parents. I don’t want them to have to worry about no expenses and no bills.  I don’t want nobody out here hustling in their name. This ain’t about supporting our organizations, it’s about supporting them. Then we’re gonna hear from the dignitaries, and others that have joined us tonight. So I want us to do it in that order. Hold it, we’re gonna hear from the parents first. Now, I want y’all to clear the stage, cos it’s too much weight up here. Everybody just clear back, everybody. But the Parents and the lawyers, clear back. Michael, and we’ll let everybody one at a time. But it’s too much weight.  Don’t make the story that the stage fell. I said clear the stage. Don’t make me call you fat guys out, get off the stage. I lost weight I can talk smack now. Now, shh, we want to respect this family. When I met Sabrina and Tracy, and saw the dignity that they held themselves. I got a call 2 o’clock this morning from my sister, that my mother had died, one mind said don’t come tonight, but another mind said my mother would be ashamed of me, if I didn’t have the strength stand up for this man, and this woman and their son. My mother didn’t raise me to duck a fight, she raised me to stand up and fight. On Tuesday I gotta go to Alabama with my brothers here, fathers here, ? to bury my mother, It will be painful but not as painful as it is for a man and a woman to bury their son. Sons’ supposed to bury their mothers. Mothers are not supposed to bury their sons. If they can bear the pain to stand up for us we can take the pain to stand up with them. They have woke America up. And they have shown something, that this world needs to see. And that is, that we love our children, like everybody else loves their children. We may not have as much as others have, but we have each other and we not gonna let nobody take our children from us. May we welcome to the platform, welcome to the microphone, the parents of Trayvon. Those that have fought the fight, let us hear from them and give them our love the parents of Trayvon Martin,Tracy Martin. ? First this woman has shown great strength, great pride, as the attorney told us,she shook New York yesterday, she shook the world. Do we love her? Are we gonna be with her? No matter how long it takes are we in it? If the cameras leave are we in it?  Say Trayvon, Trayvon, Trayvon, Trayvon. Give love Sybrina.’

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

Though I’ve focussed on the Reverned Al, many other spoke that day, all echoing the need for peace but determination in the only goal that of the arrest and trial of George Zimmerman

This entry was posted in Trayvon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In response to comments re:Trayvon Rally at #Zimmerman trial

  1. Reblogged this on and commented:
    Wonderful insight from a Trayvon Martin Supporter who actually attended the rallies. Watch the video. Remember where we were in the darkest days. The legal process is moving forward. All that we asked for is accountability in the murder of an unarmed teenager.

    It’s not about black or white, it’s about right and wrong. –Sybrina Fulton

Leave a Reply

